Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner
1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi everyone,
[SUB]
This is my first time posting here, [/SUB]and I apologise if I have posted this question in the wrong section - please point me in the right direction.

I've been using a Repco Sport bike trailer for my son, which works well. But now his head (with helmet on) goes above the line marked "Maximum Height. Top of head (with helmet) must not exceed this line". In fact, his head (with helmet on) is about 4-5 cm above that line!

However, he still fits comfortably in the trailer, and his helmet is not touching the top of the trailer when the flap is closed.

My question is: How seriously should I take this manufacturer warning? How dangerous is it to use a child trailer when they exceed the specified height limit? It is clearly not a weight issue because the maximum weight for the trailer is 45 kgs (it is a two child trailer).

I just can't see why it would be more dangerous to continue using this trailer, as compared to using a tag-along or a sit down trailer without any frame around it (eg Weehoo i-Go Pro Trailer Cycle | Two Wheeling Tots). The alternative for us is to get a tag-along, as larger trailers are too expensive.

Any thoughts much appreciated on whether it would be safer to get a tag-along or continue using our existing trailer!

Thanks very much,
Loz

·
Registered
542 Posts
Try turning the trailer upside down with him in it, like it would be after a crash. Happened to my daughter thanks to a curb clip. When upside down, I bet the trailer deforms, and his head will be hitting the ground now. With those fabric seats, gravity in the other direction will change things quite a bit.

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·