Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner
1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
53 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello Everyone,

Long time lurker, first time poster. I have been biking regularly for about 3 years, but I am now really starting to get into it. That is being accelerated by the purchase of my new Ripley V4 (yeah, I love it so far!).

Anyways, I am pretty new to the nuances of biking. I have always just thrown on a pack to carry my water and other essentials (food, multi tool, spare tube, CO2 cartridge, levers, and adapter). However, I would like to start ditching the pack for shorter, local rides.

My question is, what is everyones set up? I have used some cheap saddle straps in the past to hold the tube, but not hold the smaller components (CO2, tool, levers, etc.). I think I would prefer a saddle bag or strap, but I am riding a dropper post so I am not sure about capability there? Is a frame bag a better option? I get nervous about the bag wearing on the carbon frame.

I know this has been discussed a lot in previous threads, but I didn't find exactly what I was looking for, or a more recent thread (there are lots of new options out there!). Anyways, I appreciate any and all help!

·
ACHOO
4,497 Posts
I hear you about local rides, where you just want to jump on the bike and go. You still have 2 issues:
1. Still need the tools unless you're close enough for a "walk out".
2. Still need the water.

I've just gone with a small pack. I like the convenience of everything, including water in there, and you can usually fit in a phone if need be. It's small enough that I don't really notice it, even on hot days.

For longer rides, I just move to a larger pack, where I can add more water, snacks, and a spare shirt for the benefit (smell) of everyone I post-pub with.

·
Registered
17,528 Posts