Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner
1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
12 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi from the UK.

I'm new to 29 / 29+, coming from 650b & 2.35".

I've just brought a Surly Krampus in small & plan to use it for some off road bikepacking in Wales.

I'm running through a few quandaries at the moment particularly around gearing (tyres & luggage also).

Has anyone here managed to fit a non Surly 2X chainset to a 3" tyred Krampus? I don't have the wheels built or tyres yet to measure up, but wondering if my old square taper Race Face Turbine cranks can do it. I've got the middle ring on the outer position & will space the granny into the middle position, then i need to figure out how wide a BB spindle i need to clear the tyre. Does this sound feasible?

Cheers,
Martin.

·
Registered
24,083 Posts
Can't help you with the Krampus, but can say when running 29x3.0" on my Unit, I can only run rings in the middle and outer position, on a XT M780 3X crankset with 51mm chainline for the middle ring, standard BB spacing, figure that's about pretty standard for any 29x3.0" setup. Can run a middle ring, but then can't go to anything bigger than the 4th largest cog without it rubbing and using the middle position, still only have about 4mm when in the largest cog. One other important note is that the Unit only has a 135/142 rear, so if you're running the newer Krampus with Gnot Boost and running a 148x12 setup, you should have more clearance.

·
Registered
46 Posts
I ran my Krampus Ops 2x10 when I first built it up with 29x3.0. I used a cheap SRAM crankset and X7 derailleurs I had lying around. Setup worked well with no interference anywhere except chain rub in the lowest gear combination. Eventually switched to Shimano SLX 1x11 which has been flawless for years.

·
Registered
24,083 Posts