Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner
1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
13 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello! I have recently purchased a second hand bike (2017 DB Sync'r) with a RS Recon Silver 130mm fork. Comared to the 2017 150mm RS Pike on my other bike, this fork sucks. It feels like a wet noodle in terms of stiffness, and I find myself washing out the front wheel in turns because of the worse damping (as far as I can tell, but I'm no suspension expert).

Anyway, I am looking at my options for upgrading to a better fork on a budget. I have found some older (2014ish) RS Revelations at good prices ($150ish), but I am concerned that this fork with the 32mm stanchions will not give me the increased stiffness that I desire, and may not even perform that much better than my Recon. Has anyone had experience with both of these forks to have any input here?

Other than that, I guess I am considering a newer Revelation or Pike with the 35mm stanchions, but that comes at a much higher price, and this being my 'beater bike' I am not sure how much I want to invest into this upgrade.

Am I best off just living with the lower performance and just enjoying my Pike on my other bike? or would a slight upgrade to an older Revelation or something give me a noticeable boost in performance?

Thanks for any input!

Also, I guess it might be good to mention that I am 6'2" 185lbs without gear. I ride primarily in southern Michigan, so the trails arent very extreme. But I am looking to travel around more and take my bikes to more 'serious' trails out of state in the near future. I might even be moving to CO before too long.

·
Registered
1,482 Posts
One caveat about RS. They seem to change the hierarchy within their lineup of model names like Reba, Judy, Recon and Revelation. So, today a Revelation is a better fork than a Recon, but five years ago, it may not have been.