Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner
1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
14 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Mates,

I have problem with my old faithful RS Pike Race - I rebuilt it with all new o-rings and Enduro seal kit. Now the compression travel is very stiff, as the fork had an overly firm spring in there. I studied the problem by removing the coil spring, and found out that the fork popped back up a bit even without the coil! I opened the bottom bolt in the other lower leg a bit, and and some air farted out of there...

So to me it seems that there is an unwanted air chamber in at least one of the lower legs. How are the lowers supposed to ventilate anyway? Otherwise the rebuild seems fine, no leaking and the oil level in the damper is correct too...

Any ideas how to get rid of this additional air spring in my coil fork?

Thanks!

·
Registered
9,456 Posts
Sandels said:
Mates,

I have problem with my old faithful RS Pike Race - I rebuilt it with all new o-rings and Enduro seal kit. Now the compression travel is very stiff, as the fork had an overly firm spring in there. I studied the problem by removing the coil spring, and found out that the fork popped back up a bit even without the coil! I opened the bottom bolt in the other lower leg a bit, and and some air farted out of there...

So to me it seems that there is an unwanted air chamber in at least one of the lower legs. How are the lowers supposed to ventilate anyway? Otherwise the rebuild seems fine, no leaking and the oil level in the damper is correct too...

Any ideas how to get rid of this additional air spring in my coil fork?

Thanks!
Something doesn't sound right. Air pressure just doesn't enter the lowers. Maybe the seal between the damper and lowers isn't doing its job. I'd see if the damper side lowers are filling w/ oil .

·
Registered
14 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·