Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner
1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
949 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
Be forewarned if you watch this you may want 3 minutes of your life back. However, someone who has done some map creation for their Garmin GPS might find this interesting. I figured out how I could make my custom trail maps routable on my GPS. Creating custom maps is rather easy, making them routable is a bit more complex. I used to be a programmer for the gov't in a past life; working with map editing software is like jumping back 15-20 years to how things use to be done (i.e., text files, dbf database files, command-line compilers). It's been a fun week of learning.
While the maps look basic, the final result is what is shown on the topo (green inset below).

Picture below is the complex trail (Banner Forest WA) routing with turn by turn instructions. A post below shows the GPS actually routing.

Attachments

·
since 4/10/2009
33,450 Posts
There's no way I'm even going to attempt watching it. I am not remotely that directionally challenged to want my GPS to tell me when to turn.

Half the fun of being in the woods is navigating. When I hike, I commonly will leave the GPS off buried in my pack and work the map & compass.

·
Registered
949 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 · (Edited)
NateHawk said:
There's no way I'm even going to attempt watching it. I am not remotely that directionally challenged to want my GPS to tell me when to turn.

Half the fun of being in the woods is navigating. When I hike, I commonly will leave the GPS off buried in my pack and work the map & compass.
No problem, I knew I was only targeting a small group of people; however the tool I used to make the video is kind of cool. You can get it here for free;
http://www.smallvideosoft.com/ (freez screen video capture).

·
since 4/10/2009
33,450 Posts
MarkHL said: