Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner
1 - 20 of 77 Posts

·
Registered
222 Posts
I wimped out and used the granny gear on and off after about half way point on climb to Kennedy-Priest Rock junction coming from Kennedy Road entrance. About half-mile from the top, I had to get off my bike and walk it up in two different spots. Whoever can pedal up that portion got my deepest respect.

Now that the climb is over, I thought that coming down would be the relatively easy. ...wrong... I fell/crashed twice in Priest Rock Trail, and did a face-plant after hitting a loose rock coming down on Limekiln Trail. I was not a happy camper on a Limekiln Trail as it was too hard for a novice like me.

Now that I'm having a beer after a shower and cleaning out flesh wounds, I'm already looking forward to heading back to this trail... after practicing the necessary bike handling skills first. Since I started riding "real" trails this month, my bike handling skills ain't worth a dime.

Any suggestions where or how I can build up my bike handling skills first?

Attachments

·
Registered
5,971 Posts
Great Pics:thumbsup:

Oh, welcome to the local training ride called kennedy. It's quite famous for taking the average joe mtb rider and making him question why he is living. It's an awesome training hill. Those 2 walls at the end after the "false summit" are a great test of your technical climbing skills while dead tired.

Now, that upper part of Priest Rock is nick named "dog meat" for a reason. If you crash on it, you get turned into dog meat:yikes: . It has weird off camber turns and the dirt make up changes every 200 yrds.

Lower Limekilm is "fun". It's is difficult to manage at any real speed because the ruts, rocks, poison oak and slipperiness of it all. Keep working it, it's a real good trainer for building skills. Just watch out for me on Thurs afternoons, I like to climb that thing. I always question why about half way up.