Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner
1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi I’m new to this form and mountain biking and even tho I’ve had a few injuries already lol I am loving it.

i bought a San Quentin 1 and the forks that came with it were pretty rubbish so i raised some cash and bought a set of 2nd hand rockshox revelations 2018, I’m totally new to these forks so wanted to ask if anyone could help with me just doing a few checks to make sure they are all working as they should?

i have noticed one issue that concerns me tho..
i noticed a little damp area with oil underneath the fork where the rebound adjustment knob is? I’ve wiped it clean now and it hasn’t come back as bad as it was but when I remove the knob on the hex stem that’s attached to it right at the end is a little wet with oil, is that normal?

im up for giving them a complete service myself but if there’s no need atm I’d rather just enjoy riding with them for a while first.

the guy said they were in excellent condition and hardly used and although they look like they’ve been hardly used that oil thing worried me a bit.

sorry for the long message hopefully someone with experience can share with me a for things.

thanks

·
Registered
478 Posts
Rockshox suspension forks have plastic crush-washers under each lower-leg.
My guess is the damper side is leaking because the washer needs to be replaced, or the retaining nut may have worked it's way loose.

The following video is of a basic lower-leg service, which should be performed every 50hrs of use.

Since this is a new fork to you, it would be a great time to perform this service.

I wouldn't ride the fork until you got this leak straightened out.

HTH

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·