Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner
1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
156 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
The bike I bought this year came with a 35 and, man-o-man, is it notchy. I don't know how else to describe it... NOT SMOOTH lol. I read another post where someone dissected it, deemed it a pile of hot garbage and concluded it should never be installed on a bike. Therefore, I have no interest in rebuilding it. I'm no pro and never thought anything much more than basic components is what I need. My other bikes have never been top of the line stuff and I never had a complaint so naturally thought the 35 would be fine. I was wrong lol.

So my question is, what's a good replacement for this fork? I was looking at the Pike and Lyrik and they seem to be comparable but I'm not guru enough to understand all the differences. Price also seems negligible between the two. As far as my research on FOX, I have read more than once they tend to leak and just aren't as reliable... but people still love them. I personally lean towards reliability so I'm probably bias toward RockShox from experience but still open to opinions.

For reference, the bike is 150/150.

·
Registered
361 Posts
Pike if you won't be hitting really steep and gnarly trails, Lyrik if you will be. As for Fox, their stuff has always been dead reliable for me and many others. If you look at them a 36 would be what you are going for. Don't overlook forks like the DVO Diamond, Manitou Mezzer, Cane Creek Helm and the Marzocchi Z1

·
Premium Member
6,939 Posts
Pike if you won't be hitting really steep and gnarly trails, Lyrik if you will be. As for Fox, their stuff has always been dead reliable for me and many others. If you look at them a 36 would be what you are going for. Don't overlook forks like the DVO Diamond, Manitou Mezzer, Cane Creek Helm and the Marzocchi Z1
This. All work well, each has their own feel. People who like the feel of Rockshox tend to not like the feel of Fox and vice versa.

·
Registered