Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
12 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I have Rockshox Tora Solo Air on my Kona King Kikapu and they are extremely soft. They were working fantastically for the first few months (bought bike used, believe it's an '07), even through Moab, but the other day I took it off the roof rack and the dust and oil seal popped off on the right side; I wasn't even riding it! I ordered enduro seals and replaced the oil and dust wiper seals on the right and the dust on the left (but not oil) and it still feels blown.

How can this be? I've never worked on shocks before, did I do something wrong? I followed the directions and they look good. Could it be something else in the fork? It holds air just find when I pump it up but its super soft. The lockout works and makes it about as hard as it used to be on full solf, but unlocked it just has no pressure.

Any ideas? Could the oil seal be blown on the other side too from taking it apart twice? (I took it apart first and tried using the old seals before I bought the new ones)

Thanks for any help!

·
Registered
10,039 Posts
sounds like the air seal actually. Either way, the fork would be repairable for not too much money

·
Registered
12 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
Okay, where is the air seal and how do I repair it? It seems to hold air, just makes a weird squirty noise when I push down and is uber soft

·
Registered
10,039 Posts
Start with the service guide from here. All the air spring components are inside the left stanchion. I haven't dealt with this myself (yet) but I believe a leak between the two air chambers can cause this. All the air you pumped is still inside the fork, but when you put force on the fork the air moves between chambers instead of staying in place and resisting compression

·
Registered
12 Posts
Discussion Starter · #7 ·