Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner
1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
22 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
As a very proficient amateur, i've done a fair amount of shocks in my time, but never come across this.

This SD came in (as well as his Lyrik) looking quite beat up considering it's a 2021 model. Rusty bushings, rusty ifp chamber/piggyback circlip, worn body, almost glued on valve cap and sand in every crevice.

The guy complained of only 3 clicks on his rebound adjuster, and I thought maybe it's only some sand/grit in the detents since the ring was hanging off a little.

Digging further though, revealed that the pin that should be sliding in and out on the ramp is completely stuck in place. Research shows that it should just pop out, as some people wanted to clean underneath but have had it fall out with no effort. He's managed to chew us some of his detent areas too, and there was some kind of compressed stone grit inside (think how your cleat bolts fill up with stony bits) (cleaned out on the pic).

I've tried with no IFP pressure, then no oil at all, damper body off, piggyback off then finishing the service and cycling the shock to push out the needle but it really will not move, and there's not much to grab on with pliers.

What do we think has happened? Gorilla handed it too far closed and jammed it? Grit?

How to solve it? Is it ready for the bin? Anyone seen this one before?

Tire Bicycle Bicycles--Equipment and supplies Wheel Bicycle wheel Automotive tire Tire Wheel Motor vehicle Tread Reptile Snake Jaw Scaled reptile Finger

·
Elitest thrill junkie
36,988 Posts
It seems like something wrong with these?, as in I can usually get around 3-4 clicks "easy", but to get any more, I have to hold the collar really tight and apply some force. It'll move, but it doesn't move nearly as easily. Luckily the orientation of my shock makes this relatively easy when riding, but it's still an issue.

·
Registered
22 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·