Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
46 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I have a rock shox pike 327 that came with my pitch, and I've been using it for about 2 years now. I use my bike mostly for small local trials, but every summer i make a few trips up to NH and use it for lift serviced downhill. Last summer I was getting a clicking noise while riding (the sound only happens under a hard compression). It lasted for a few weeks and then went away. Now this past week the problem came back while i was riding at Sunday river, again the the noise is only under hard compression. The sound also goes away when the u-turn is adjusted down a little bit( like to around 135mm travel or less)

I have not changed the spring in it and I am a 185+- lbs with gear. Anyone have any idea on what might be causing this sound? I don't really feel anything when it clicks, but it is quite audible.

Maybe i have overworked this fork by riding it on downhill, and the fact that i think I'm over the weight for the stock spring in it.

I'm hesitant to take it apart myself because i've never done it before. I tried bringing it to a few local bike shops and they all said they would just send it to rock shox and have them check it out.

cliffs:
-Rock Shox pike 327
-clicking noise under hard compression
-happened last year and went away after about a week
-Clicking noise goes away if i adjust the u turn down a few mm's.

Is it worth while for me to have this fork sent out and fixed, or should i ride it a little longer and save up for a 160mm fork?

·
Registered
46 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Grease the snot out of the spring, the clicking is likely the spring hitting the inside of the stanchion.
alright i just took out the spring and it looks pretty dry.

What type of grease can i use on this? Is a multi-purpose lithium grease ok or should i get something different?

also, whats the reason for the little piece of heat shrink that's on there?

·
Registered
46 Posts