Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner
1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Registered
288 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I have a new Ibis Ripmo V2 with 12 speed XT with 28t up front and 10-51 cassette. Size XL. When mashing under load in the 28x10 combo the chain skips and clunks, like it’s trying to shift up to the 12t and then falling back onto the 10t. Otherwise, every other combo is smooth and flawless.

This is my first full suspension bike. I have many years experience home wrenching on Shimano 9, 10 and 11 speed drivetrain on hard tails and road bikes. I think I understand hi-low, b screw, hangar alignment, etc, and all that seems to be just right on this bike. I also looked inside the hydra hub and lubed it with Dumonde. It’s fine. I’m starting to think that this problem is being caused by frame flex. Is that even a thing on the Ripmo? I’m not some heavyweight who breaks crank arms or anything like that. I’m 185 lbs.

I guess I’m looking for input about what I might be missing in trying to dial this in on a full suspension bike, and the Ripmo especially.

Any thoughts would be appreciated.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

·
Registered
288 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
Okay. Thanks for the input. I gather from the lack of response regarding flex that flex is not a thing. Just figured I’d throw it out there.

So, last night I watched some installation videos and read over the dealer manual on derailleur installation. Then I went through everything from scratch and noticed:

1. The chain is too short. Using the Shimano wrap method, I only count 3 links where there should be at least 5.

2. The b-screws was not correct. I had it set up eyeballed to the cassette as I am accustomed to doing on 11 speed and earlier. I turned it to tighten the gap so it matched the line on the cage. It was off by approx 3-4 mm too much gap.

3. I cleaned and lubed the chain.

Results: