Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner
1 - 20 of 38 Posts

·
Registered
389 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I was able to demo one for a pretty solid 3hr ride and noticed my hands going numb half way through. I've been riding for many years and this was the first bike where I couldn't fix it based on saddle tilt/fore/aft/height. Looking around the forums, it seems to be a common problem with this bike.

FWIW, I've demo'd 8 other bikes and none had this problem. Has anyone with a Rimpo had this problem, then solved it? I don't rally want to buy the bike and proceed to play the expensive 2-month game of finding the right stem length/rise, or handlebar width/sweep. I'm 5'8" and rode the medium, if it matters.

·
Registered
1,826 Posts
Did all the bikes you demo'd have a steep STA like the Ripmo? That can put a lot of weight on your hands if you ride terrain that is not pretty much all up or down. Extended flat seated pedaling is not it's strong suit. Also, the Fox 36 forks are not super plush on little stuff IMO. When I put an MRP Ribbon fork on mine, it was much plusher on the smaller stuff. But I never experienced any hand pain, I only ride it at trails that are pretty steep up and down w/o much flat.

·
Registered
506 Posts
Too many factors to narrow it down but I’ve definitely noticed with the new geo bikes there is increased pressure on the hands.

The steeper SA and longer reach are a game changer for extended climbs but with the shift in body weight something as simple as having the fork too stiff or uncomfortable grips could easily cause increased hand fatigue or numbness. Hopefully not an ongoing issue for ya.

·
Registered
6,565 Posts
You can also try moving the saddle back a bit. The other thing you can check is the bar rotation. I've found that if its rotated too far forward...it'll put extra pressure on my hands.

·
Rollin 29s
1,004 Posts