Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner
1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
106 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
So, I finally got my alfine and a speedway UMA 70mm offset rim for my pug upgrade.Problem is I can't find a bikeshop here in central Florida to build it, how hard would it be to do it myself? I've never built a wheel before but consider myself to be mechanically inclined. Or... anyone know of a wheelbuilder in sunny Fla do this? I already installed my new SC32 and UMA front with a new Larry-awesome! Now I need to bring the rear up to speed!!!

·
will rant for food
4,005 Posts
If you're patient you can do it. Give yourself lots of time, and if it doesn't go well don't be afraid to unlace and start over.

I relaced a taco'd wheel for the learning experience, and started over twice, but was amazed at how straight I got it in the end.

·
Self-defeatist
965 Posts
I used that Sheldon Brown article (the OG from a 1980 Bicycling magazine) to build my first few wheels, but I practiced on a couple of garbage wheels first. Take 'em apart and put 'em back together, then see what it takes to destroy them.

·
Registered
1,188 Posts
Roger Musson's wheelbuilding book is also a good source, although it will cost you $14. A small price to pay for the knowledge within, IMO.

https://www.wheelpro.co.uk/wheelbuilding/book.php

I built my first wheels using only Sheldon Browne's online guide, then shelled out for Roger's book because I wanted to fine tune my technique and just hear some other opinions. I opted to purchase a truing stand, but there are instructions in Roger's book on how to make your own out of wood. Honestly you don't need the instructions unless you want to build a really nice one. Its pretty simple. Here's one I whipped up because my Fatback hub didn't fit in my Park stand.