Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner

1 - 20 of 24 Posts

·
Registered
129 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
When you're riding with beginners, what's the best way to deal with them lagging behind? I've recently been bringing along a buddy to a local (5 mile) trail that isn't technically challenging at all. A few very small logs, some roots, that sort of thing. I mainly ride it to improve my fitness. When I bring my friend along, though, I realize as bad a shape as I am in, he's worse than me and falls behind right away. Being a s-l-o-w beginner myself, this has never really been an issue for me. But either I'm improving, or my buddy is just exceptionally slow. :)

Anyways, is it rude to go ahead and stop at the end and wait? There is no way to get lost on the trail, no technical challenges at all, and nothing really to cause even a beginner problems, besides fitness issues. Normally, I wouldn't mind taking it slow. But I'm riding it to improve my own fitness, and don't get much waiting for him. And I wouldn't mind much if it were an occassional thing, but he wants to go with me whenever I go. So either I tell him no, ride slow, or leave him behind.

I just hate being an ass and leaving someone, but at the same time, I'm riding the trail to get in better shape. Any thoughts?

·
Freshly Fujified
8,199 Posts
Tough call

I say you have to break it to this guy that he can't come on every ride. As the "slow newby" myself, I like the fact that the folks I ride with are courteous and tolerant enough not to leave me in the dust. They get a head, slow down and/or stop just to make sure I'm OK. Also, keeping within eyes reach allows me to try to keep pace, and also affords me the opportunity to watch them attempt technical maneuvers, which in turn give me more confidence that I can do them. If they just blow ahead of me and wait for me at the end of the trail, I might as well ride alone.