Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner
1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
254 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
hey all, i'll be in vegas with the wife and another couple at the end of the month and i'm looking for info on renting/riding in the area. my buddy, who's also riding, found mcghie's and all mountain cyclery who do guided tours as well as rentals. I really don't feel like d*cking around with maps and whatnot and squandering our meager time so the guided thing seems nice especially since they'll both pick us up on the strip. So my real question is, would you suggest riding bootleg canyon (all mountain cyclery) or cottonwood valley (mcghie's)?

thoughts? thanks.

·
Registered
64 Posts
I'm no expert(I live in LA), but I've ridden both areas multiple times. My take: you don't need a guide at either...Cottonwood is wide open desert, so tough to get lost if you keep a few landmarks in your head. Bootleg is a pretty well marked trail system...and they even distinguish downhill from cross country. Cottonwood(again, my opinion) has much better scenery, but is less techy than Bootleg. Bootleg is more fun.
If you ride Cottonwood, try to hit the trail that the locals call "three mile smile." It's a blast. Deadhorse is a good loop, up Satan's staircase, down and around. You can definitely put some miles in out there...and finish with the "three mile smile."
At Bootleg, even the cross-country trails have some technical elements. I loved it there.

http://www.bootlegcanyon.org/

Try both if you have more than a day.

·
Registered
666 Posts
chidDONG said: