Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner
1 - 20 of 26 Posts

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi there,
I'm from the UK and going to be in Santa Cruz for three weeks next week. I've been riding and racing for 6 years at home, mainly enduro, And the mountain biking in SC is the main reason I'm going to be there. So it would be a dream to have a local show me around some of the trails that I've wanted to ride for years and have seen on PB and Youtube. If anyone would be up for showing me around then let me know and I would love to ride with you. I'm not taking a bike with me so would need to hire one.
Also I know its very cheeky to ask but I'm struggling to find a place to camp that isn't booked up so if anyone has a garden or a bit of dirt that a fellow mountain biker could put a tent up in for a few days I would be happy to pay, no worries if you don't though:D.
Cheers
Charlie

·
Ariolimax columbianus
1,635 Posts
breh, free camping downtown Santa Cruz just look out for rats and used needles...kidding, not kidding. call or stop by cycle works on mission street. good dudes, should have demo bikes, and find you a place to crash possibly.

·
Registered
2,175 Posts
Hey Charlie - I ride there quite a bit during the week - feel free to reach out to me via PM if you need a guide and we may be able to sync up for a ride!

Cheers

Loren

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
Haha yeah might avoid that camping spot! That's awesome I'll defiantly go there to hire a bike and it would be amazing if they had somewhere to crash!!
Thanks for the advice. Cheers

·
Registered
4,070 Posts
I would recommend renting a bike from Santa Cruz factory. But get on that as soon as possible, since they get booked fast.

As far as where to stay on a budget, you honestly do not have many good options. Maybe a decent option would be to try and rent some type of van/truck that you can sleep in, and go find some nice spots right on the coast up north a little ways.

·
F*** it