Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner
1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
109 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I've been riding here for several years and I do the blue loop and the stuff around Wildcat Ridge. I usually do everything in about an hour and half, but is there more? I did a night loop with a couple of guys from Marty's but it was mostly washed out fireroads. Is there more? Does anyone know?

I noticed some motorcycles/atvs have been in there lately, so this makes me think they must coming in from somewhere and maybe there is more. I would be available for a week day ride if anyone wants to play tourguide. 6:00 start? U pick the start place.

Chris

·
Registered
153 Posts
Is there more?

yes, you can continue on into Farny and beyond, but it is all woods roads also used by ATV's. Just a heads up, Splitrock itself is privately owned by Jersey City, and the easment obtained by the DEP only allows hiking on the trails. Good news is that there are other options for bikes, so staying off the White and Blue trails along splitrock res, is not a big deal. I hope to clarify this on the JORBA website soon.

Certainly open to giving some tours as well, can start next week.

·
Crashin' since the 60's
73 Posts
Legality?

Are bikes legal on Charlottesburg Road?

As you go North from Split Rock Road it changes from blacktop to a fireroad and it eventually hooks up to Winnebago Road. Winnebago Road eventually ends up at the intersection of Route 23 and Echo Lake Road. At no point is it obvious that this road is closed to bikes, cars, etc.

Wassup with dat?

·
Registered
109 Posts
Discussion Starter · #6 ·
trailnimal said: