Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner

1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
163 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm going to Cornell next year and am an avid biker and I'm looking for good trails less than an hour and a half away from Ithaca. I live in Asheville, NC and love the biking that is around here (Pisgah National Forest anybody?) and I'm looking for trails of a similar nature: cross country one's that basically go up a mountain and then come straight down. I have no knowledge whatsoever of New York so any help is greatly appreciated, thanks.

·
They turned me loose
384 Posts
Yo

We have trails in both directions about 15 minutes away from I-Town. Shindhagin Hollow and Hammond Hill are my local rides during the week. Shindhagin has many trails and many differnet levels of terrain. But mostly mud and roots, with some shore built in. Not much for mountains around here. Mostly Rolly, rooty, fast, MUDDY Single track....and lots of it. More riding can be had in various other drive times. 45 minutes gets you to Chenango Valley, nice and dry in the spring when everything else is focked from water. Highland Forest in Tully is decent, another 45 minute drive, but mud prevails most of the year. 1 1/2 hours west is Letchworth, a must do. Ellicotville, about 3 hours west, mountainbike specific trails (NICE). Jenksville and Oakley Corners are nice as well, looking at maybe 30-45 minutes south for them. And of course the 4-6 hour drive north to the Adirondaks, a must at least twice a year, they have mountains up there I reckon. Cornell or IC?

HatTrick said: