Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner
1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello all,

I'm a complete newbie to this forum but figured it might be one of the best resources to find out about riding in a new place. I've got a good friend moving out to Seattle from Denver...we're riding buddies and he was wondering about the scene out in the Seattle area.

Could anyone give me an update on the rides in the Seattle area? (He's moving to Bellevue I think.) How far are they from Bellevue? Is there an online resource for riding in and around the Bellevue area?

If Bellevue's not a great place for mountain biking what other locations might be "better"? (located close to Seattle)

Sure appreciate the help!

J

·
orthonormal
5,261 Posts
Your best resource will be BBTC. Also check out the Washington forum here at mtbr.

There are multiple options for good riding within 30 minutes of Bellevue. There are other places to live that will give similar or slightly better proximity to good riding but depending on where your friend will be working, some of them could make his commute a big pain in the ass.

·
Registered
812 Posts
Just moved to Seattle area, some advice

my in-laws live in Denver so I have ridden there as well. BBTC is a great website with tons of information and trail tips.

From what I have seen the trails closer to Seattle, are shorter, extremely tight singletrack that loop around quite a bit due to limited land options; or freeride oriented parks. On a side note if that is what you are interested in, the folks around here have a done an awesome job of building some really great freeride areas.

Once you go out west on I-90 the trails open up and are much more similar to the trails in Colorado. Bellevue is a great for riding, easy commute to the city, and great schools; if you can afford it. I can't so I have to drive farther to ride.

Spend some time on BBTC and you will get a feel for what the different areas have to offer.

·
Registered