Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner
1 - 20 of 94 Posts

·
Registered
4,961 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I saw multiple you tube videos of expert riders who won't wear protection such as armor shorts, upper body armor, elbow pads.
they only wear helmet.

some of these riders are seth. they get injured when crashing.

how can someone afford to take time off from work with serious injuries?

·
Registered
2,427 Posts
I never ride with "protection". Just a helmet.

In my MX days, I started riding with full gear. Boots, knee pads, elbow pads, chest protector, helmet, goggles.
As i got faster, the protection became less important. My skills as a rider usually prevented crashes, and when I did crash, certain protection did nothing anyway as the speeds were much higher.
I did wear helmet, left knee knee brace, right knee pad, boots, goggles. No elbow pads and no chest protector.

Crashing is a skill, and it IS possible to crash and likely not get injured.

·
Hoolie Ghoulie on Strava.
Ripmo
3,428 Posts
Was reading this, I just put my iPad down, jumped off the couch into a rolling summersault onto the carpet, and sprung back to my feet. Yep, I've still got it!

·
Always in the wrong gear
3,313 Posts
I’m with you OP.
It’s ironic this come up today.
I went on a ride this morning with my 61 year old father, and my 57 year old uncle. (I’m 38) It was my uncles first ride after a crash 3 years ago that resulted in a broken arm, and a skull fracture that required surgery.
My dad used to ride MTB a fair amount but hasn’t in a while. We rode only ‘easy-blue’ rated trails, yet my dad managed to stuff the front wheel into a rock crevice and otb pretty hard. He has a light concussion and a sore shoulder.
We were all wearing the usual ‘t-shirts and baggies’ but no real armor.