Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner
1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
18 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey there, my name is Richard.

I am from the Phelan area. Anyone on these boards from around my area?

I want to learn some good trails up in Wrightwood perhaps. I am a beginner but looking for some better scenery, as I usually ride around my house and the aqueduct.

I have a 26" KHS XC 104. It is stock but I will upgrade it as I become more fit.

Hope to meet some local riders.

Richard.

·
Registered
132 Posts
dont bother looking for people to ride with on the internet. most are posers and their idea of a ride is driving a car 15-20 miles to a 1 mile granny trail and drinking a pbr at the end of the "exhausting" ride. -_- btw i live in high desert around main/phelan if you want to ride all the way to pacific crest trail hit me up i go about once a week ^^ its a good 60+ miles round trip

·
Registered
705 Posts
Your post caught my eye, but you're quite a ways from the high desert in my area (live in Tehachapi, work in Mojave). IMO a drive to Tehachapi to partake in a TMTA group ride would be hard to justify. There are some fair trails around here, but you are much closer to some really sweet spots. I'm jealous you're so close to Big Bear. I've done a few rides in that area and it's great. Lots of options. Another must ride from what I hear and read is the SART (Santa Anna River Trail) near Big Bear. I haven't bagged it yet, but plan on it soon.

·
Registered
497 Posts
Hi Quill, I'm in Lancaster and ride up in Wrightwood until the snow falls and even a bit after! Devil's Punchbowl is pretty close to you too. Don't know when I'll ride up there next but I'll pm you or post. Send me a pm too if you get some riding time.

·
Registered
13 Posts