Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner
1 - 20 of 36 Posts

·
Loser
5,536 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
For the last two years or so I've been riding with the same two folks, more or less. One of the riders, I'll call him Old Friend I've been riding with on and off for probably 15 years, the other, I'll call him, New Friend I've been riding with for about 2 years.

OF is the kind of rider who rarely maintains his bike and is constantly riding an impaired bike. However, this does not bother him and, for the most part, his bike holds up during rides. Its not unusual for his bike to have only two working gears, no air in the shock etc, etc. Even with this handicap he's a very strong rider (used to race expert) and he likes to hammer. He's definitely above my ability in all categories. Besides riding, he's also a friend of mine. He's very selfish though and rides are on his terms or he whines. With just the two of us riding, that's rarely an issue as I can ride somewhat on his terms - a couple of breaks in a 3 hour ride.

NF is the kind of rider who maintains his bike before, during and after every ride. He's constantly tinkering with his bike to make it perfect. One skipping gear means a complete drive train strip down during the ride. When we ride without OF, its ok, we're pretty evenly matched, maybe I can ride a bit faster up hill and slightly better on the real tech stuff, but he blows me away on the downhills.

Here's the problem - OF and NF fight like six year old siblings on the trail. NF propensity to tear his bike apart slows the rides down, and it frustrates OF to no end. OF likes to hammer harder which drives NF to the brink of bonking.

I guess I'm not sure what to do. At this point I'm unsure what to do... any suggestions?

John

·
Linoleum Knife
3,323 Posts
Jisch said: