Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner

1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
372 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
Hello all.

I'm hoping your knowledge can be of some help here.

I have a 2012 Rockshox Revelation RCT3 Dual Air. Great fork, I bought it off a certain well known german website in 2012. I rode kind of a lot during that year and then in 2013 I went away for 9 months for military service as it's mandatory in my country.

Now I'm done and I started riding again. The fork has not been serviced at all this whole time, but honestly the second year that I have it, it's had almost no action.

After a recent inspection I realized that when I hold the front brake and rock the bike back n forth without being on it, there's a very slight knock coming from where the stanchions meet the seals. It's like not even 1 mm but I can certainly feel it. It's not the headset and it's not the pads moving in the caliper.

Funny thing is when I used the second method of checking for play, I almost couldn't feel anything. That second method is: remove the wheel, grab the fork crown with one hand and the lowers arch with the other and rock the fork back n forth. It was way less almost in-existent that way... Weird.

Also if I get on the bike, or if I compress the fork slightly, the play goes away.

I know the fork needs a service anyway after all this time however my question is: Will this problem go away with normal re-greasing/fresh oil and replacement of whatever o-rings/seals/foam rings need changing?
Could it be worn bushings already? It seems a bit early to me, considering the use for bushings to be worn...

I also plan to lower the fork to 140 with a spacer during it's first service.

Please enlighten me!

·
aka dan51
6,021 Posts
Some play is generally normal, though ****ing annoying as heck. Once the stanchions get lubed, the oil fills the gap and it will go away or be much less noticeable.