Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner
1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
13 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am new to the world of mtn bikes (I have not ridden in about 10 years). I have seen Santa Cruz bikes but know very little about them. From their website, it appears that the Chameleon is the bike that I need, although I am unable to determine a price range and I know next to nothing about the components.

My priced range is about $700. Does Santa Cruz offer a mtn bike for that price? My alternative is a Gary Fisher.

I am about 5' 7/5" tall w/a 29.5" inseam. One of the problems that I have had is finding a bike w/enough standover height.

My riding will not be too intense, just some off-road trails. I don't have the interest (or money) for a full suspension bike, only interested in hard tails.

·
a.k.a Slacker
535 Posts
If you've been on their website, you should also try the bike builder feature and that should tell you if you can buy a new chameleon in your price range.

However if you are new to MTB'ing you may want to look at the used market (my 2 cents). Just to get a feel for the type of bike you want without spending the big bux. A modern bike does tend to cost quite a bit more than it did 10 years ago.

·
Registered
353 Posts
You might be able to pick up a used Chameleon on ebay or craigslist if you look long and hard enough? its a fun bike :thumbsup: Cause the frame alone is 600$$$ for the Chameleon I found mine used with a Pike on the front for a grand.

·
Registered
3,975 Posts
cduke123 said:
I am noticing the significant price increase! Santa Cruz bikes seem to be rather costly, much more than I am willing (or need) to spend. Thanks for the advice about Bike Builder.