Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner
1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
163 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I have a 2008 Remedy 7 that I bought new a few years ago. I do the lift and shuttle services a lot less than I thought I would and have only rode dh only trails a few times this year. Most of what I ride a few times a week are more single track xc type trails and several of the people I ride with are on hardtails.

From reading about the other suspensions like maestro and dw link, I feel like I might be wasting a lot of energy pedaling if I don't get a different bike. I was thinking about a 2011 Trance x2. Is there really a big difference dealing with parasitic power loss in pedaling going from the Remedy to a 4" or 5" xc or trail bike with a different suspension design?

·
Registered
3,299 Posts
I have no experience with the Remedy so I'll discuss what my recent findings have been.

I've ridden Horst-link bikes and one bike that was a low single pivot. TheSP was actually an OK bike pedaling up hill but not stellar. The Horst bikes I've ridden were well done designs, Titus, Chumba and KHS.

I recently received a SC Nomad. Although it is pounds heavier than my MotoLite, it pedals better and handles square-edge bumps better. I think multi-link designs are where it is at. If I were in the market today, I'd be looking at a multi-link and probably no others. It has truely been an eye-opening experience for me.

·
Registered
163 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
I'm now thinking of either the Turner 5 spot frame for 1699 or the Pivot Mach 5 frame for 1499. I just don't want to be disappointed after the purchase that there isn't a decent amount of noticable difference in pedaling efficiency.

·
Registered
3,299 Posts
From all of the reviews that mention the pivot not being super plush probably means you will notice a significant difference while pedaling up.