Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner
1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
60 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Has anyone tried these? I picked one up yesterday, waiting for my new tires to come in to try them out.

I always have had a terrible time with tubes, usually I have to replace one or both every other month or so, and that is after I've patched it quite a few times. Not sure what I have in there now, as the shop put them in and I was stupid enough not to ask what brand they were, they do say CSI or something one the side. Anyway, I have yet to find a favorite tube, and at this point being in school going tubeless I think is out of my budget.

·
Premium Member
48,238 Posts
The REI tubes I have bought were made by Kenda - and say so on the tube. If yours have CST on them they are made by the parent company of Maxxis.

I just avoid tubes made in China. They have torn easily for me.

·
Registered
90 Posts
I'm just getting into mountain biking, and I just had my first flat last weekend on my new Giant Iguana. What should I look for in a tube to get something that will handle what I throw at it on the trail and not make me end up with a flat again right away? Will any old tube from a bike shop do, or do I need to get something in particular?

·
Registered
60 Posts
Discussion Starter · #6 ·
thestarsfan9 said:
I'm just getting into mountain biking, and I just had my first flat last weekend on my new Giant Iguana. What should I look for in a tube to get something that will handle what I throw at it on the trail and not make me end up with a flat again right away? Will any old tube from a bike shop do, or do I need to get something in particular?
Get something that fits the tire, obviously...My tires are 26x2.10. make sure the tube is the same, I run 26x1.96-2.10. I hear good things about Slime tubes. As previously stated REI tubes are made by Kenda, Kenda is a top tire (imo), I'll report how the handle my riding style soon.

·
Registered
122 Posts