Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Trying to get some first hand experience from people who have worked at the REI bike shops compared to local private bike shops...

I’ve been working in local, privately owned shops for the last 8 years. I’ve been shop manager, work my ass off, but never have any benefits and pay is just ok. I was recently offered the shop manager position at my current shop for $1 more per hour, no benefits and simple IRA.

I interviewed with REI last week and was offered a job in the bike tech debt today.REI is supposed to be sending me info on what they are offering to pay and if any benefits are included.

So....anyone ever worked for REI bike dept?
Any input?

·
Registered
86 Posts
Trying to get some first hand experience from people who have worked at the REI bike shops compared to local private bike shops...

I’ve been working in local, privately owned shops for the last 8 years. I’ve been shop manager, work my ass off, but never have any benefits and pay is just ok. I was recently offered the shop manager position at my current shop for $1 more per hour, no benefits and simple IRA.

I interviewed with REI last week and was offered a job in the bike tech debt today.REI is supposed to be sending me info on what they are offering to pay and if any benefits are included.

Any input?
One of our mechs went to our REI and the first thing they did was send him to Barnett’s in Colorado for two weeks training.

·
Registered
3,484 Posts