Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner
1 - 20 of 22 Posts

·
Registered
16 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Looking for some tips/advice for managing/scheduling training volume:

I'm in my second year of structured training for XC, following Friel's MTB Training Bible as closely as possible. One thing I constantly struggle with is how much to train, and how often with respect to recovery and fatigue. Right now I'm in the base training phase, and I have a difficult time getting enough hours on the bike each week (based on Friel's recommendation) because I'm trying to ride only when fully or mostly recovered. (Friel seems to really stress the importance of recovery and not riding when fatigued.) At this point in time, it seems to take me a full 2-3 rest days for my legs to recover from a longer "E2" 2+hour road ride. Throw in a couple of weight training sessions a week, and it's difficult to find enough days to ride when my legs actually feel rested and strong (or any days).

Am I too afraid of fatigue? Is it normal to take so long to recover? Should I increase volume and ride with more fatigue during base training? Thoughts?

·
Registered
2,659 Posts
How many annual training hours are you doing?

How you handle workload is really a function of previous experience and proper sleep/rest.

·
Registered
16 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
I'm shooting for 400 hours this year.

I actually sleep 8+ hours a night, and have a fairly low level of stress. I'm planning on improving my diet in 2010...

·
Registered
2,659 Posts
Something is not right then. Your training zones may be set too high. You shouldn't be that physically fatigued from base 1 work.

At the same time you should have some fatigue from ride to ride. But not alot. For me, big base work gives me more of a combo of physical and mental fatigue. Especially if it's a big step up in hours from what was done before.

·
Registered
17 Posts