Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner
1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
I'm new to full suspension biking. My wife and I decided to give it a leap and both bought Specialized Stumpy FSR Comps. We've been toying with the front (Fox Float 32) and rear (Fox Triad) PSIs and were wondering (knowing full well there are variances, personal preferences, etc.) what might be a decent PSI for us on front and rear to adjust before we go riding.
I'm 5' 11" and 160
She's 5' 6" and about 125

I'm hoping for some suggestions on PSI numbers for both of us, or at the very least, some layman's terms on what should go into my figuring out what it should be for each of us.

Much thanks!:thumbsup:

·
Super Moderator
20,810 Posts
The pressure varies from one model to the next... you should check you manual for a starter point....

I usually start with my weight in PSI and move from there until the right sag is achieved. Sag is the amount of travel that is used from the shock's stroke with you just sitting on the bike. Measure the distance of your shock's stroke (the golden looking part) and try to get it to compress about 25% when you sit still on the bike.... if it is over 25%, add a little air; if it less, let some air out.... you have to find out how YOU like it...

I hope this helps

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
crisillo said:
The pressure varies from one model to the next... you should check you manual for a starter point....

I usually start with my weight in PSI and move from there until the right sag is achieved. Sag is the amount of travel that is used from the shock's stroke with you just sitting on the bike. Measure the distance of your shock's stroke (the golden looking part) and try to get it to compress about 25% when you sit still on the bike.... if it is over 25%, add a little air; if it less, let some air out.... you have to find out how YOU like it...

I hope this helps