Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner
1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am just getting into Mountain biking. I am 6'2 210 and in good shape. Some of the things I am lloking for are:

29er
A decent fork w/ Lockout option
Disc brakes
No more than $1200

I have ridden quite a few bikes and the 2 I like the best so far are a 2010 Felt nine comp, and a 2011 GF Cobia. Both are right at a grand at LBS. I also plan on riding a couple Giants. Any help would be greatly appreciated.

·
Banned
19,198 Posts
Try out a Giant XTC , then pick out the one that fit you the best . Try to spend as much time on them as possible , maybe consider renting for a day if possible . They are all excellent picks , it will come down to you preference . Good luck .

·
up n over
407 Posts
Boss man at southriver outfitters in Fla is 6'2" (or +1")
I fit him on a 23" rockhopper and it was perfect.
5'8"-5'10"= 17"
5'11"-6'= 19"
6'-6'2"= 21" (he may be 6'3")
6'2"-6'5"= 23" (inseam matters)
Its a big bike but fits him well.
He has his 2009 (just got an '11) frame for sale its a SS but u can get a hanger for it pretty easily.
PM me if there is any interest..

·
Registered
24,083 Posts
To the OP, as advised, try to get some test rides in on as many bikes as you can, test both Large and XL frame sizes as you should be somewhere in that ballpark fit wise, go with what fits and feels best. Sticking to something your local shop can provide is normally a good idea on your first bike as they'll be able to provide tune ups and service/warranty when and if needed.

WOW, nice flat out shill there dude and where do you work, what's the name of the shop? Wana advertise, take out an add AND do as the guidelines say and put it in your SIG.
elsewhere said:
Boss man at southriver outfitters in Fla is 6'2" (or +1")
I fit him on a 23" rockhopper and it was perfect.
5'8"-5'10"= 17"
5'11"-6'= 19"
6'-6'2"= 21" (he may be 6'3")
6'2"-6'5"= 23" (inseam matters)
Its a big bike but fits him well.