Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner
1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
7,696 Posts
phils said:
Does anyone know how to remove the pivots on a Manitou FS frame?

WOW! I just did this last night! I used an 11mm socket and a hammer. They come right out with a few hard hits. Or you could find a local machine shop with some sort of press to get them out.

·
Start slow and taper off
790 Posts
There's also a tool for it

I got my Manitou Fs when I worked in a shop, and we also ordered the tool. It was basically a long threaded rod, and you had a metal piece that fit perfectly on the bushing and would push it through the frame. You can probably easily make one, you just need to find the right size piece to push the bushing through.

Or go with fillet-brazed method.

Unless you live in Jersey and I'd pm you the shop that most likely still has the tool, as the owner never gets rid of anything. In fact, just out of curiosity, next time I stop by there, I'm going to check and see if its still in the same drawer as when I worked there, some 8 or so years ago. I'm sure the owner knows this is something I used to use, but has no idea exactly what it is.

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
So much for the socket

Well I got the top one out fairly easy. Beat the crap out of my socket and I still have to remove it from one of the cnc pieces on the seat stay. The pivot on the bottom did not even budge even with a 10lb sledge. I soaked it in wd-40 and still no luck. I think it is pretty seized up because it takes alot of force just to pivot the rear triangle (and I already have the shock off).

I think I am going to have to drill it out. Is there a place to buy a pivot to replace it or will I just have to have someone make me one?

I appreciate all of your help.

Thanks

Phil

·
Registered
7,696 Posts
phils said: