Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner
1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I got an old Gary Fisher Zebrano that was badly abused at Burning Man then left outside to rust for some unknown number of winters. After cleaning/lube/adjust the components I found that it rides really nice, but the front ISYNC shocks are frozen in the up position. Adjusting the two rotating black plastic pieces at the tops of the shock posts made zero difference.

I tried going to OldRoads.com where I read (on fixya) that entering the s/n returned the production year, but the site is down right now. I don't know how to identify the year so I can search for the correct rebuild guide for the shocks, and see if parts are still available.

Does anyone have any suggestions about how I can identify the shocks so I can look for rebuild parts and instructions?

I've never done a shock tear-down before but I've done just about everything else on bicycles, and a good amount of auto mechanics,
so I'm fairly confident that I can muddle through this with instructions and parts.

Thanks In Advance,
Mike

Attachments

·
Registered
1,670 Posts
I was going to suggest contacting Trek, but you already did. But I'd actually call them. A couple years ago I called their support looking for specs for rear suspension bushings for a 2003 Fisher Sugar 3+. I assumed I'd need to make/machine new bushings. Turns out, not only did they have the specs, they actually still carry the parts! In less than 15 minutes on the phone, the parts were on the way. You may have different luck (or lack of) with a fork...

You could always call Gary himself. :)

·
Elitest thrill junkie
39,212 Posts