Votes: 38 73.1%
  • Fox TALAS R

Votes: 14 26.9%
1 - 20 of 29 Posts

·
A Real Winner.
863 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Ok, I've abandoned my dream of putting a 20mm through axle fork on my Flux. All the parts are ordered, but I'm still debating which fork to get.

I've narrowed it down to the Fox TALAS R, and the Reba Race.

Which one? You choose. Choose wisely. . .

·
Do It Yourself
5,720 Posts
You don't need 140mm of travel so the TALAS is a waste. Plus the R isn't nearly as adjustable. Reba is the perfect fork for the Flux.

·
long standing member
3,095 Posts
sonyisdope said:
Which one? You choose. Choose wisely. . .
If you're still concerned with stiffness I'd stay away from the Reba. My '05 SL flops around like a wet noodle. How about a nice Marzocchi? It's got adjustble travel like the Talas. I've no personal experience with the Fox.

·
Registered
1,165 Posts
Reba all the way,and maybe think about the Reba SL, cheaper by a good deal and has all the adjustments( same) you need.

·
Registered
2,721 Posts
PCinSC said:
If you're still concerned with stiffness I'd stay away from the Reba. My '05 SL flops around like a wet noodle. .
yeah I'd second that. Reba = scary flexy @ 115mm under a big guy. the Rev is supposed to be on a stiffer chassis.

·
Kiwis can fly - briefly!
97 Posts
I cannot comment on the relative stiffness of the Reba and Fox, however, I have ridden the Flux/Reba in both 20mm and QR configurations and noticed little practical difference in fork stiffness using the bike for the type of xc trails for which it was designed. Dropping almost 1.5lb off the front of the bike when I switched out the Pike/20mm hub was, however, quite noticeable. I suspect either fork will work fine if you use them within their design envelopes.

Ndo

G

·
i took the REBA off my my flux and repalced it with a talas. i will gladly take the extra .5lb. the front end steers with much more precision and control.

·
A Real Winner.
863 Posts
Discussion Starter · #12 ·