Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner
1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
guy who bikes
39 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey, in advance thanks for any advice. I just bought a set of Chris King hubs to lace to DT Swiss XR 4.2D rims. I have no experience building wheels and limited experience truing wheels. I demand perfection in this bike, and so I'm trying to figure out if this is an obtainable goal for my first build. I work in a bike shop and so have access to the tools and could get a little help from our head mechanic, but obviously it's our busy season, so he doesn't have much time to be helping. Should I just have him build them for a little extra money and get a professionally built wheelset or risk trying my hand :madman:? Again thanks for any advice.

·
Registered
9,470 Posts
If you go slow, follow the steps carefully and avoid interruptions, you should be OK. Having worked at a shop I woudn't suggest doing it doing business hours- best case scenario, do it after hours and buy your buddy a 6-pack to hang out, work on his own bike and be there to answer any questions.

One thing that confused the hell out of me when I was learning, was that everybody I asked had a different method for building. Some guys do 8 spokes on each side, then twist the wheel, then put the other 16 spokes in. Others do 8 on one side, then twist, then do the other 8 on the same side, then do the opposite side. So on and so forth. If you are getting advice from multiple people it helps to know their process first.

The thing I screw up the most, but has the least consequence, is getting the valve stem centered between open spokes. No big deal but costs style points. So if you do one side first (as I do) check carefully when starting the opposite side.

Avoid alloy nipples on your first build. or always. ;)