Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner
1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Wally on Wheels
67 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
So I've got some play in my rear wheel causing me some bother, I've been trying to track it down for a while with no luck. It's 100% not any of the frame pivots as I've torqued them down to spec and even put a dab of thread luck on the treads to keep them there. So the next step is trying to tear down the hub / free hub body situation, is there anything obvious which could be loose in there? I've got no experience with this but I figured now's the time to learn!

·
Wally on Wheels
67 Posts
Discussion Starter · #2 ·
I've also checked the tightness of the raw section here with a cone spanner and it was so tight I couldn't actually loosen it! Not sure if it came from the factory that tight or the guy I bought the bike from had bigger arms than me :lol:

Bicycle tire Bicycle wheel rim Bicycle part Rim Bicycle drivetrain part

·
mbtr member
6,503 Posts
Looks like you have a cup and cone hub. Most likely the jam nut on one side has come loose and will need to be re-set. If it happened on the drive side you will most likely need to remove the cassette to get access.

·
Registered
7,869 Posts
I would not necessarily rule out the frame. If bearing on the frame are worn everything can be torqued to spec and there will still be play.

I would check the wheel first though.

·
Wally on Wheels
67 Posts
Discussion Starter · #6 ·
I would not necessarily rule out the frame. If bearing on the frame are worn everything can be torqued to spec and there will still be play.

I would check the wheel first though.
The bikes not got that many miles on it yet but I checked them all over when I re-greased them all and they seemed good to go. That is a good point though

·
Wally on Wheels
67 Posts
Discussion Starter · #7 ·