Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner
1 - 20 of 24 Posts

·
slap happy
417 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
hello everyone. first thread here, so bear with me!

my question is, what dictates travel (for rear suspension)? i've bought a jamis parker 1, and was under the assumption that it had 100mm of rear travel, as advertised on jenson's website.
well, in reality there is nowhere near 100mm of rear travel, more like 50mm. so i guess i have two questions.

#1, where do they get 100mm of travel from? the fox float r on it doesn't even have that much travel.

#2, what dictates how much travel your frame is capable of? can i get a better rear shock that has more available travel, or is the frame of the bicycle only made for a certain amount of movement?

i'm not a new rider, i've been riding hardtails for many years now, but this is my first "real" mtn bike, as in full suspension and hydro disc brakes. the parker is nowhere near top o the line but for the price it has enough features to suite me.
thanks in advance for any insight into this, and if someone has a link to a faq or some such, that maybe has a lot of the basics (best way to setup suspension, bleeding these brakes, care tips etc).

·
slap happy
417 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
gradeafailure, thanks that's what i was looking for.

ratmonkey, care to expand on that?

·
slap happy
417 Posts
Discussion Starter · #6 ·
another great reply. thanks!

is there a mtn bike mechanics for dummies or mtn bike basics 101 or something of the like?

·
slap happy
417 Posts
Discussion Starter · #10 ·
so by that definition, this float r doesn't have 100mm travel, only 50mm if travel is defined by "how much the suspension compresses as it works".

·
slap happy
417 Posts
Discussion Starter · #12 ·
gotcha. i'm not being intentionally dense, i'm just new to all of this.

·
slap happy
417 Posts
Discussion Starter · #13 ·
and i took "how much the suspension compresses" to mean the "in" stroke, not both in and out stroke.

·
slap happy