Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner
1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
10 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello all,

I'm trying to decide how important rear lockout is, and ultimately that will decide my choice in bikes.

I've never had a shock with rear lockout, and I do experience pedal bob with my current ride, and I really notice while climbing.

The AVA has the lockout feature and the R doesn't, but according to Fox's literature, the pro-pedal circuit on the R is suppose to eliminate pedal bob.

Is a rear lockout that important for climbing? I know the AVA is worth about $150 more than the R, but I'm more concerened with the lockout Vs no lockout.

Please help.

·
Who are the brain police?
10,112 Posts
To me, traction uphill outweighs the benefits of lockout. I have no experience w/ pro-pedal, but the stable platform on a swinger has been a miracle for me. With the swinger I never wish I had lock out (and back when I did, I never used it).

·
Do It Yourself
5,720 Posts
Couple things. First you are mixing up Fox naming conventions. They have a Float R, Float RL, AVA R and AVA RL. The AVA sleeve adds a larger adjustable air chamber for a more linear feel and adjustable progression. The R only has rebound and the RL has rebound and a lockout. These are separate adjustment features.

The lockout feature interferes with the rebound circuit so it compromises performance. In addition, the lockout mechanism requires a much larger nitrogen charge that causes maintenance problems requiring factory rebuilds. Lastly, the ProPedal feature does help with pedal induced suspension motion. It doesn't completely eliminate pedal bob but it's still a big improvement over older shocks. Lockouts are for anal roadie types who want ZERO suspension movement no matter how trivial.

As far as which bike to buy, go with a proven suspension design from a good company. I wouldn't pick one bike over another due to the shock they put on it. You can always upgrade the shock later as necessary.

·