Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner
1 - 20 of 22 Posts

·
dragin' fly
57 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
the rear shock axle broke on my brand new blur xc(less than 100 miles). has anyone had any problems like this? is there a beefier axle out there? i'm no expert, but the shock to axle point looks like a weak spot. i ride xc and will be back on my hardtail until sc can warranty this.thanks for any input.

·
dragin' fly
57 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
hey guys, sorry but no pics. its already on its way to california. yeah, it broke exactly where the shock meets the through axle(the pin that threads through the rp23 on the bottom end of the shock). my shop said in the process, it also mauled the swingarm and bearings. pretty disapointing. but not as disapointing as finding out it will be 4 weeks at the minimum.

·
Super Moderator
20,810 Posts
standingindian said:
hey guys, sorry but no pics. its already on its way to california. yeah, it broke exactly where the shock meets the through axle(the pin that threads through the rp23 on the bottom end of the shock). my shop said in the process, it also mauled the swingarm and bearings. pretty disapointing. but not as disapointing as finding out it will be 4 weeks at the minimum.
Auch... bummer.. I hope SC steps it up and gets your bike back to you sooner...

·
dragin' fly
57 Posts
Discussion Starter · #7 ·
i noticed the axle pertruding a 1/4 inch and tried to tighten it up, relizing after the fact that the axle was already broken. i may have done damage to the linkage riding or during the walk out of the woods. afew miles into my walk out the axle came free of the shock at which point it was evident i had broke it completely.

·
noMAD man
12,227 Posts