Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner
1 - 4 of 4 Posts

·
All Mountainer
33 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I have a problem, lately my rear derailleur has been playing up, i shift a gear and some times the chain doesn't shift but the derailleur moves? is this because i have lubed the chain to much it sticks? or can it be it is not tunes correctly as i have tuned it 3 times now and it is spot on. or can it be the cable has stretched some more and needs tightening?

Also i have a clicking noise in my right shifter but i think its the cable. if i jiggle the cable where it connects to the shifter it makes a click noise and it never did this before. Is this caused by some grit or dirt on my lines that house the cables? i dont know why its happening.

Cheers, Jason

·
Registered
60 Posts
Jaso, I'm no expert on this, but I've been fooling with my rear derailleur a lot lately, after I put all my stuff on a new frame. I have noticed that after the top and bottom limits are set, and I can shift without issue with bike in stand, still more fooling around needs to be done while riding.

The barrrel adjuster where the shift cable exits the shifter, and/or where the cable enters the derailleur need to be tweeked a bit. What I have not been able to determine is exactly which way for what circumstances...like shift up rough, or shift down rough or no shift up or down only for some gears and not others, and so on for all the crap that happens instead of a perfect shift.

My LBS seems to get it right, so I may head over there if I don't get it figured out, or if I don't see all the solutions somewhere in MTBR.

Someone should take a perfectly tuned rear derailleur, and introduce everything that could go wrong one by one, and create a table of symptoms. That would be cool, at least as a reference.

Dunno about your clicking noise.

·
Registered
1,498 Posts