Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner
1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
231 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I picked up a Schwinn Protocol 1.0 a few weeks ago, Im trying to get into riding a bit primarily for exercise. I love the bike and for my needs it was a good mix of cost and .. non crappyness..

I ride a dirt trail that is loose dirt and is ALWAYS completely covered with leaves.

The protocol has a disc front break, but a standard V break on the rear. so every few min I find myself having to stop to clear leaves from the rear break :madman: Its almost like it was designed to collect them.

The rear of the bike, looks like it MAY be compatible with disc, but Im new to all of this so I cannot be sure, but if it is, I haven't the foggiest as to where to get a compatible setup.

Im not looking to spend a ton of money one a cheap bike, If I decided to stick with riding I will most likely get a new better bike.

I have attached pics of the rear, any advice welcome.

Attachments

·
Premium Member
48,238 Posts
ja001son said:
I picked up a Schwinn Protocol 1.0 a few weeks ago, Im trying to get into riding a bit primarily for exercise. I love the bike and for my needs it was a good mix of cost and .. non crappyness..

I ride a dirt trail that is loose dirt and is ALWAYS completely covered with leaves.

The protocol has a disc front break, but a standard V break on the rear. so every few min I find myself having to stop to clear leaves from the rear break : Its almost like it was designed to collect them.

The rear of the bike, looks like it MAY be compatible with disc, but Im new to all of this so I cannot be sure, but if it is, I haven't the foggiest as to where to get a compatible setup.

Im not looking to spend a ton of money one a cheap bike, If I decided to stick with riding I will most likely get a new better bike.

I have attached pics of the rear, any advice welcome.
I do not see anything that is broken.