Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner
1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
237 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I broke my collar bone pretty badly back in July, and got the surgery to put in a 6" plate with 7 screws. Everything has healed up nicely now, and i've been back on the trails for awhile and feeling great (i still do feel it during certain movements and when i wake up in the morning though..).

So my dilemma is whether or not to get the plate removed. My Orthopedic MD said he typically leaves them in and has never personally seen anyone re-break a plated one, but agrees with my fear that, at least in theory, a break on a plated clavicle would be worse one without.

My biggest opposition to getting it removed is the recovery time. He is saying about 6 weeks. I am a carpenter so that would mean at least 6 weeks off, which im not really too keen on...

I dont see myself slowing or lessening my riding down realistically, so the possibility of another hard impact if certainly there..

So.. im just looking for opinions.. Has anyone had issues or heard of issues related to injured plated collar bones? thanks

-Jason

·
Super Moderator
6,781 Posts
When I broke mine in April- I decided I never wanted to undergo this kind of painful recovery again. What did I do? I switched riding styles. I went from fall-risk heavy FR/AM riding, to XC. Now, I totally enjoy XC because it has such a strong fitness component to it. I realized to minimize the risk of crashing- my wheels really don't need to leave the ground anymore. As a result, riding up technical hills and charging singletrack is much more challenging than hucking drops, and barreling down steep, rocky descents. At 44, I cannot afford to break my c-bone again. The therapy to regain full movement was a royal PITA and delayed riding another two months. No more of that nonsense.....

·
Gravity addict
315 Posts