Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner
1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
24 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm super new to the sport. My initial interest came about because I was given the opportunity to participate in a bike patrol program at a local recreation area where I work as a ranger. My district obtained two 2019 Stumpjumpers, wrote SOPs, and opened the program to any ranger who wished to take part. Having not spent much time on a bike prior to this opportunity, I figured it would be beneficial to purchase my own bike and ride the trails during my off time in order to build up some skills and confidence. So I picked up a 2015 Trek Marlin 5 and got to work. I started with small sections of the local loop trail and finally tackled the entire 9mi lake loop last week. I felt great, steaming with confidence, and was ready to set out on my first patrol. Yesterday I linked up with another Ranger, who is quite a skilled rider, and set out on the trail. To no surprise, he was much faster than I, and I'd be lying if I didn't feel a bit of pressure to keep up. About three miles in, I approached a slight downhill with a sharp left turn at the bottom. I took said turn too fast and thus, too wide. This error led me right into a tree and a hard fall to my left. What resulted was the inability to grasp my handlebar grip with my left hand. Because this happened at work, I was sent to the hospital which, in retrospect, was the right call as I was told I had suffered a "Boxer's fracture" and that my left hand would be immobilized for at least six weeks. Though I outwardly maintain a positive attitude, I'm wicked bummed. I did my best to take the right steps, practicing off duty before attempting anything while on the clock. I also recall my initial thought after receiving the news was, "damn, I can't ride for a month and a half?!" Even though Ive only just taken an interest into the sport, I was really excited to sink my teeth into a new hobby and felt like I was improving at a st