Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner
1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
671 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am just getting into bikpacking. I have everything I need so far except for a means of carrying cargo in the rear. I have decided (for several reasons) that I would benefit by having a rear rack and top bag (no intention of panniers as of yet) as opposed to a saddle bag.
However, my bike (2018 Rocky Mountain Blizzard) has no braze-ons for a rear rack. I really like the design of the Old Man Mountain racks and their axle mounts, with cost ($230) being my only concern (since I am just starting, I am reluctant to spend a whole lot....but will if needed). Is there anybody else that makes a rack for a fat bike that mounts to a through axle (12x197)? I have done a lot of searching and have yet to find any other that meets those two criteria.

·
Registered
1,110 Posts
I have done a lot of searching and have yet to find any other that meets those two criteria.
You could buy a BOB trailer axle from the Robert Axle Project and adapt whatever rack you want to use. Disclaimer: if you have the tools, fabrication skills, and materials to do that, you'll probably save some money over their OMM rack kit; but if your time is worth any money, the OMM rack is cheaper.

·
Registered
671 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
Thanks lads. It looks like the Bob Trailer axle potentially gives me the option of using the Blackburn Outpost rack...but I can't discern if the width of the Blackburn lower adapters flipped 180º (as Robert Axle Project shows) will work on a fatbike. I'll do some more digging, however, the price of the axle and rack bring me within $30 of the OMM kit, so if I cannot confirm fit, it may be better just to spend the extra and get the OMM. I also prefer the chain stay mounting of the OMM kit.

Thanks again.

·
Registered
121 Posts