Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner
1 - 20 of 30 Posts

·
Int'l Man of Leisure
3,268 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I want to upgrade to a good rear bike rack but....
Which is better... the Yak or the Thule???
The Yak is $1 less...
Yak

Thule

·
Bodhisattva
10,843 Posts
I have the Thule with the 2 bike extension. Works great, loads quickly and is simple to operate. It's a bit bulky with the 4 bike setup and can't be lowered to operate the hatch in that configuration but most of the time I don't use the 2 bike add-on.

·
Int'l Man of Leisure
3,268 Posts
Discussion Starter · #6 ·
ncj01 said:
I have no experience with rear-mounted rack systems.

However, if roof-mounting, I think Yak is without parrallel.
Without a doubt!

However, since the 'bike meets garage door header' incident, I don't use one much...

·
Registered
246 Posts
I have used the Sportsworks Transport T1 for years with no complaints. It doesn't work for 29ers, so I bought a Thule (which is the former Sportworks T2) and am back in business. These are the best racks I have used, and I have used quite a few over the years.

·
The Duuude, man...
3,537 Posts
I wish I had photo's of the rear-mount basket I use...I posted them last fall with the Asylum's maiden...basically it's a semi-custom hitch-mounted basket, and I drilled/installed fork mounts...but you can get 2 bikes, full size cooler, folding chairs, gear bag, etc on it w/no problem.

Ah, found some:

·
highly visible
3,284 Posts
Over the years I've only used fork-mount roof racks and frame-mount hitch racks on my cars, but the Thule seems like the better design. Especially if its Sportworks, whose design I have used for many years on city buses. As Padre said: simple, stable, dependable.