Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner
1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
410 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
First some background.....I am pretty new to racing and my first race will be coming up in 2 weeks. It's a non-technical mostly doubletrack race (Watershed Wahoo in NH) and I have spent the winter road riding and in on my trainer except for the last couple weeks. I made it through Build 2 (Friehl's method) but now that I am riding trails again I have been unhappy with my performance....my legs feel like they have lactic burn all the time even though right now I am only doing 6 hours a week and spacing out intense workouts every other day. I have been doing intense intervals and lactate tolerance reps in my workouts and since this week is a rest week and at the end of next week is a race I am planning on taking it easy the next 2 weeks and do power workouts that don't stress my muscles as much.

My question is, since I feel so burnt and slow when I am riding trails lately is that what I should practice the next 2 weeks instead of some of my routine road/trainer exercises? I am thinking that since I haven't been riding on dirt I may need to spend some time getting used to it again, however the race is non-technical so I don't want to waste too much time getting used to switchbacks, rock gardens etc,.......have any of you run into this dilema?

Thanks,
ecibis

·
Registered
301 Posts
ecibis said: