Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner
1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I have about $2K to spend on a new hardtail, which will be a significant upgrade from my current hardtail. I'm new to x-country racing, but want to get a bike with good components so I don't have to put a lot into upgrades. I'm currently considering the Jamis Dragon Pro (full XT, Fox fork, Juicy 5), but wondering if it's too heavy (25 pounds). Another option is building up a Salsa - which (presumably) would be lighter, but won't have the same level of components for what I can afford.

My current bike is 28 pounds, so I'll be 3 pounds lighter with a Jamis, but for $2k, can I do better? I appreciate your opinions or suggestions on alternatives. Thanks.

·
Registered
23,381 Posts
25 lbs is not too heavy at all. Please don't let the whole weight wennie thing get to your head especially since you are new to racing. The Jamis on paper looks like a really solid bike for racing and it's really up to you to see how well it fits your body and riding characteristics. Worry less about marginal weight differences and more on mental and physical preparation to race.

·
Registered
236 Posts
Unless you are racing at ski resorts a lot, weight really doesn't matter that much.

I second the carbon XTC though.

·
Registered
24,083 Posts
When you say "A Significant upgrade from my old HT", what do you mean? Do you mean that you want a better frame or just better components? Take a look at the TREK 8500 from last year or year before to see if you can find it on close out, they are excellent HT's w/ full XT group, - dual control levers, hydro discs, full drive train. I was amazed when I rode my friends and just couldn't actually believe it was a HT.

TREK 8500 online
KHS
Alite Team

Or consider going for a steal of a deal on a FS race bike.........
IH Azure Expert Full XT groupo FS Race bike for well under $2K, weight as I've heard is around 26lbs.

·
Why Me
120 Posts