1 - 20 of 45 Posts

·
SRAM...Shimano who cares?
98 Posts
As a diet noob myself:
1x10 or 1x9
Carbon Bars/post
ESI grips
Check ebay for a 'old' WCS 4-axis or c260 (if you're lucky)
Nothing wrong with the Ardents (peace of mind is priceless) but Ignitors might give you similar performance and while on hard pack SB8 will also take good care of you. and make sure you go tubeless (SB8's can be a PITA to go this way but do able)

That'll chop off a solid pound maybe even two (depending on your bar/stem/post).

Good luck and happy riding

~JRA

·
Registered
285 Posts
Maybe too expensive but the most weight saving you can probably get in one item is to get a new wheel set.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

·
Registered
1,107 Posts
What fork is on there? Looks like a Reba but I can't tell. If it is you aren't realistically going to drop a ton of weight there. If those are the at805 wheels you can definitely save some weight there but probably not cheaply. 1x, carbon post, not too much else? Is it a superfly?

·
EAT MORE GRIME
(ノಠ益ಠ)ノ彡┻━┻
6,207 Posts
getting a ti cassette drops a ton of weight...also in the wallet

·
Registered
44 Posts
Discussion Starter · #8 ·
I bought 2nd hand and original owner upgraded the brakes, tubeless, grips and handle bar.

From Cobia GF Collection 2012 bio-'

Trek's Cobia features a light, butted, hydroformed -luminum frame with G2 Geometry for the best riding position for fast climbs, rock-steady descents and rail-like cornering. And, with its 29-inch wheels the Cobia steamrolls over obstacles for excellent control. The durable parts package includes a plush, active RockShox Recon 29er fork, sweet Bontrager wheels, a precision-shifting SRAM 10-speed drivetrain and powerful Hayes disc brakes.

·
Registered
1,107 Posts