Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner
1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
11 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm considering a GF 29er and I'm having some issues on whether it will hold up to my weight . I am 6'5", 295 lbs. and the salesman at my LBS says it will hold up, no problem. I don't do any drops, mostly just trails with logs and roots. Does anyone have any ideas? I have been looking at a GF fs 293 '05 . Would this work for me? I hate to spend the cash and continually have to upgrade/replace parts.

·
Registered
1,156 Posts
I think it should be fine. With so many new higher volume tires out I would put some bigger tires to help the rim life. I would think that would be the weak point.

·
Registered
11 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Thanks m-dub, everything that I've read on the 29er post here, really sway me toward the 29er. What kind of tires would you suggest? I am relatively new to all of this having just started riding last year.

·
Registered
1,156 Posts
To be honest im not a 29er guy. I ride with several guys on them and have ridden quite a few. People rollin 29's swear by them and others are pure anti big wheels ( usally never tried them). I believe they are here to stay and for someone your height it would be a good choice. Im 6'2" and still perfer 26 for the snappy (BMX) feel. I have a trials background and just perfer the smaller wheel feel and havent out grown jumping every thing I can even on a xc ride or 24 hour race The 29ers are not really ment for that style of riding. The few I road roll like crazy and felt good. The bigest complant from my buddies was small tires and tons have come out this year. I would cruz the 29er board for tire options, but I would look at the Kenda nevegal or any of the WTB line. It seams as though every region has its tire of choice.

·
Registered
272 Posts
organek said: